Latest News

All Blacks Sevens, South Africa and Fiji on verge of Olympics

Three teams are in the running to secure their place at the Rio 2016 Olympics, while Australia and England look set to battle it out for fourth in the Series.

After Fiji's win in Hong Kong, their third of the season, the top three in the standings on the HSBC Sevens World Series are now separated by just three points with Ben Ryan's side second on 108 points.

The Blitzboks of South Africa, although having not won a Cup title in three rounds, sit first (110) and have finished third in Hong Kong, Las Vegas and Wellington following their back-to-back triumphs in Dubai and Port Elizabeth, while the All Blacks Sevens (107) are third having appeared in the last four Cup finals - winning once on home soil in Wellington.

With three rounds to go on the series - in Tokyo, Glasgow and London - and with Australia and England a further 23 and 29 points behind, the three Cup winners this season look set to confirm qualification sooner rather than later, while Geraint John's Australia and Simon Amor's England, who are qualifying on behalf on Team GB, appear to be locked in battle for the fourth spot.

In Hong Kong the two sides met in the Plate semi finals and with Australia eventually beating the USA in the Plate final giving them three points more than England and one of their stars this season is aware of the importance of a strong finish to the season.

"It was great to get a win over England," said Australia's Cameron Clark. "It obviously pushes us a little further ahead in the scheme of the series tally but it’s still very close.

"We’d like to widen the gap, a Cup victory to either team will definitely put them ahead. We’re working on a few things and starting to play some good rugby and compete against those top sides.

"We’d like to finish on a high. We’ve only played off in one final this year and lost to South Africa so that Cup victory is something we’re still chasing for this season. It would be great to have a few good finishes in the tournaments to come and wrap up a spot in Rio."

If England, who are fifth after six rounds, were to win the remaining three Cups on offer, New Zealand would need 38 points, Fiji 37 and South Africa 35 to guarantee their places in Rio, but a win for any of the only three sides to have tasted victory since the 2013 Wellington Sevens (22 tournaments) in Tokyo this weekend would put them one step closer to realising their dream.

For all sides involved qualification will become clearer after this weekend's tournament and heading into the final two rounds of the series and with the schedule now announced for the Olympics, fans can register at the Rio 2016 ticket web portal to ensure that they receive the latest information about tickets and alerts for the key dates in the purchase process.