Latest News

Waikato look to take Womens advantage over Auckland

With reigning Women’s Provincial Championship winners Auckland taking a bye along with two other teams this weekend, Waikato have the chance to take the outright lead ahead of the third round of competition.

Auckland were imperious last round with a 70-8 win over Canterbury, with the Storm machine rumbling into action to score 70 unanswered points after conceding early points.

Shannon Willoughby, Mele Hufanga (with four tries), Natahlia Debnorah-Moors, Aldora Itunu, Aimee Lenssen, Fiao’o Fa’amausili, Lydia Crossman and Linda Itunu all scored for the very impressive blue and whites.

Otago recorded their first win of the 2015 campaign with a 32-14 win over Hawke’s Bay during round two, while Waikato took apart Bay of Plenty with a 43-0 triumph – Stacey Waaka and Les Ketu were prominent for the victors.

The Mooloo Women take on unbeaten Wellington at Waikato Stadium this weekend, with the Pride defeating Manawatu 34-0 last weekend to get on the board after taking an opening round bye.

Counties, who took the bye last week, are back in action against Manawatu, who will be seeking their second win of the year to keep pressure on the top of the table.

Bay of Plenty will be chasing their first victory in three games this year as they host Hawke’s Bay, never before has the Volcanix lowered the colours of the Tuis who are also still to account for an opponent this season.

Canterbury and Otago are the other sides along with Auckland taking the bye.

Week three matches:

Saturday 5 September, 12.00pm at Waikato Stadium, Hamilton
Played: 8, 2001-2014 | Waikato wins: 3 | Wellington wins: 5

Last match: Waikato 35 Wellington 13, 11.10.14 in Wellington (WPC)
Last Wellington win: Wellington 10 Waikato 0, 10.09.05 in Cambridge (WPC)
Biggest Waikato score: 35 (35-13), 11.10.14 in Wellington (WPC)
Biggest Wellington score: 25 (25-12), 14.09.02 in Wellington
Biggest differential: Wellington by 22 (35-13), 11.10.14 in Wellington (WPC)

Saturday 5 September, 2.00pm at Ngongotaha RFC, Rotorua
Played: 2, 2003-14 | Bay of Plenty wins: 0 | Hawke's Bay wins: 2

Last match: Hawke's Bay 39 Bay of Plenty 10, 11.10.14 in Napier (WPC)
Last Bay of Plenty win: -
Biggest Bay of Plenty score: 10 (10-39), 11.10.14 in Napier (WPC)
Biggest Hawke's Bay score: 39 (39-10), 11.10.14 in Napier (WPC)
Biggest differential: Hawke's Bay by 29 (39-10), 11.10.14 in Napier (WPC)

Saturday 5 September, 2.00pm at Massey Park, Papakura
Played: 5, 2003-2014 | Counties Manukau wins: 1 | Manawatu wins: 3 | Draws: 1

Last match: Counties Manukau 15 Manawatu 15, 13.09.14 in Palmerston North (WPC)
Last Counties Manukau win: Counties Manukau 21 Manawatu 18, 28.09.13 in Papakura (WPC)
Last Manawatu win: Manawatu 36 Counties Manukau 0, 13.08.05 in Taupo (WPC)
Biggest Counties Manukau score: 21 (21-18), 28.09.13 in Papakura (WPC)
Biggest Manawatu score: 54 (54-5), 04.09.04 in Taupo
Biggest differential: Manawatu by 49 (54-5), 04.09.04 in Taupo