Latest News

Matt Todd steps up in All Blacks' win

Flanker Matt Todd demonstrated his right to a place in the top flight of international rugby with a quality performance for the All Blacks in their 37-10 win over Australia in the Bledisloe Cup Test presented by American Express in Auckland on Saturday.

Competing at the breakdown with good effect Todd had his best outing in the All Blacks jersey.


Todd said Australia had pressured the All Blacks by getting behind the advantage line and they had been able to get some good ball and had stretched the All Blacks.

"The boys, when they needed to seemed to force a turnover or force a mistake and we were able to score some good tries from those turnovers which was pleasing."

He enjoyed being able to get an early turnover, it settled him and he was able to get into the game quickly. There had been some extra nervousness with the world record on the line and that had created some pressure but that was countered by the desire to perform well in front of home fans.

Todd's effort was acknowledged by the Eden Park crowd with an ovation when he was substituted and he said it didn't get much better than playing at the ground when it was full.

The record had been special because it was an opportunity that didn't come around too often and there had been some great teams in the past that they had passed in achieving their 18 consecutive wins.

"It was about not letting that opportunity slip and creating a little bit of history for the team," he said.

Todd's substitute on the night Ardie Savea said his Hurricanes captain Dane Coles played well in every game he had. He played with an edge and did his job and everyone loved to watch that.

"For him to play like he did tonight showed the crowd and there was a standing ovation for him. He's playing awesome," he said.

Todd said there had been some niggle in the game but that showed how much it meant.

"Aussie would have liked nothing better than to end that winning streak. Whenever you've got a game that means that much there is always going to be a bit of niggle but the referee controlled it good, and put a clear line in the sand and allowed the game to flow so it was good," he said.

Savea said it had been good to see his brother Julian back to his best form.

"I surely wouldn't want to be in the other team trying to tackle him. It's good to see him in that form and hopefully he can keep that up and keep showing the world what he is made of," he said.